Chief Executive Leadership Institute to Honor Marillyn Hewson of Lockheed Martin with Legend in Leadership Award

Marillyn A. Hewson, chairman, president, and chief executive officer of Lockheed Martin, will accept the Legend in Leadership Award of the Yale School of Management’s Chief Executive Leadership Institute on September 12 at a ceremony at the Yale CEO Caucus in Washington, D.C.

The award will be presented to Hewson by David Abney, chairman and chief executive officer of UPS, and by Yale Corporation Fellow Kevin Ryan, founder and chairman of MongoDB.

Caucus organizer Jeffrey Sonnenfeld, senior associate dean for leadership studies at the Yale School of Management, said, “Marillyn Hewson, consistently rated at the top of all lists of the world’s most powerful women business leaders, is as successful and principled as she is powerful. Her accomplishments and integrity earned her the CEO position three years ago, and Lockheed Martin’s market cap has more than doubled since then. Strategically, she has fortified the firm’s strength in military defense technology. In Connecticut, we’re thrilled with her $9 billion acquisition of the legendary Sikorsky Aircraft last year, making Lockheed Martin the number-one builder of military helicopters and a leading force in unmanned aircraft.”

The Legend in Leadership Award was created 25 years ago to honor current and former CEOs who serve as living legends by inspiring chief executives across industries, sectors, and nations. Past recipients include: Zhang Ruimin of Haier Group, Denise Morrison of Campbell Soup, Kenneth Frazier of Merck, Jim McNerney of Boeing, Ian Cook of Colgate-Palmolive, Lloyd Blankfein of Goldman Sachs, Klaus Kleinfeld of Alcoa, Gao Xiqing of China Investment Corporation, D. Scott Davis of UPS, Fu Chengyu of Sinopec, Indra Nooyi of PepsiCo, Jeff Immelt of GE, Jeff Bewkes of Time Warner, Frank Blake of Home Depot, Dave Cote of Honeywell, Ellen Kullman of DuPont, Alan Mulally of Ford, Andrew Liveris of Dow Chemical Company, Duncan Niederauer of the NYSE, Ken Chenault of American Express, David Stern of the NBA, Ratan Tata of the TATA Group, Mike Ullman of JCPenney, Infosys founder Nandan Nilekani, Jamie Dimon of JPMorgan Chase, Robert Iger of Walt Disney, Stephen Schwarzman of Blackstone, Roger Enrico of PepsiCo, John Pepper of Procter & Gamble, Don Keough of Coca-Cola Co., McKinsey founder Marvin Bower, Jim Kelly of UPS, Vanguard founder Jack Bogle, Ivan Seidenberg of Verizon, Richard Teerlink of Harley-Davidson, Holiday Inn founder Kemmons Wilson, financier Wilbur Ross, and Lou Gerstner of IBM.

The caucus theme is “How We’ll Remember November: The Business Impact of Political Disruption.” Distinguished global corporate leaders from across industries will engage in lively, candid discussions at this invitation-only leaders’ conference hosted by the Yale School of Management.

Additional caucus participants include: Jason Furman, 28th chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors; David Abney, chairman and CEO of UPS; Mark Weinberger, global chairman and CEO of EY; Terry Lundgren, chairman and CEO of Macy’s Inc.; Lowell McAdam, chairman and CEO of Verizon; Kevin Ryan, founder of DoubleClick, Gilt, and Business Insider; Bob Woodward of the Washington Post; CNN’s Jim Sciutto; Thomas Farley, president of the NYSE Group; Nick Pinchuk, chairman and CEO of Snap-on; Senior Judge Douglas Ginsburg, D.C. Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals; Marillyn Hewson, chairman, president, and CEO of Lockheed Martin; and Senator Chris Coons of Delaware.

Conference partners include: Edelman, EY, Korn Ferry, NYSE, PepsiCo, and UPS.

The Chief Executive Leadership Institute was founded in 1989 to provide original research on top leadership and lively, current educational forums through peer-driven learning for accomplished leaders across a range of sectors.